scarpa's

And that's what I'm gonna do. Wait, sorry, I got distracted. Everyone talks about boots, so they get their own special forum.
donkeyrider
Replant Forums Highballer

scarpa's

Post by donkeyrider » Sun Apr 05, 2009 2:05 pm

Allo everyone,

I saw that several of the regular posters are promoters of the scarpa brand boot. I bought a pair of boots but I've been hiking in them for like 5 months so there getting a little used. I want to buy one and only ONE new pair of boots for the upcoming season and I looked at the scarpas on the MEC page. Are these scarpas the one shot boot. Weight doesnt really matter to me, and I like the fact that they're leather and not gortex. Non caulk are also a pref for me this season. Sorry this is a little scattered, but I guess the question is what boot will most sucessfully last an entire season. The scarpa's look sweet I'll probably buy them but I wouldnt mind some feedback from anyone who has tried them out.

thanks a bunch
Best way to kill flies: "throw your shovel at them"

Seabass

Re: scarpa's

Post by Seabass » Sun Apr 05, 2009 2:25 pm

I'm going with the same pair of zamberlans I wore last season and am pretty certain they'll get me through the entire season comfortably along with keeping my feet dry. All leather, only seam is on the back, and a gore-tex liner. They're also super light.

Nate
Forum Moderator

Post by Nate » Tue Apr 07, 2009 6:10 pm

Scarpa's are good, I used them seismic in the mountains and they held up for three months with only minor tearing and heel wear.

I swear by Hanwag's now, however. The Yukon is probably exactly what you'd be looking for. Track'n Trail are the only people in Canada I know that carry them:

http://www.trackntrail.ca/HanWagProducts.htm

Sebastian

Post by Sebastian » Tue Apr 07, 2009 7:07 pm

Nate, I remember Zap from Windfirm recommending those too...
Any idea how much it runs for a pair? And how is it for waterproffness etc?

Glen B
Starting to Post