Cost analysis and advice for first time planters

Here's the best place to ask specific questions.

What were some of the flaws of this post?

You may select 1 option

View results

mmm..trees...
Starting to Post

Cost analysis and advice for first time planters

Post by mmm..trees... »

I am a university student in Ottawa, and I went planting for the spring 2009 season. I am not going back for another season because it's not for me, I have posted some information that I think absolute rookies should know before deciding to investing this type of venture. Most of the information on forums is incomplete in that I have not found to date a really good guide of cost estimates. ( Not the typical planter-esque type thing to do I guess?) The information I have posted is the stuff that I wish I has access to when I was considering the notion of going planting.

I am no trying to bash planting in any way, its a good experience for some people, but university students and young people who are going planting for their first time they should be warned! It can be a costly mistake for some. What I have provided is a cost estimate of what the average and I stress AVERAGE planter may make come end of first season. The most important factor is money for most first time planters. Not many people plant because they want to plant commercial forests, and the figures of ‘$100/day’/’$200’day are too ambiguous to follow for rookies.

I know it has been posted a million times that tree planting is a highly individualistic experience, but from what I experienced last year, and the money estimates I have derived, my advice were to be summarized I would say unless tree planting is a multi year strategy to pay for school, (in the case of students) find another job. People who are not students have their own reasons; I will not go beyond my knowledge in this case.