The Wonders of Google earth - treeplanting edition

Gossip, rumours, and random thoughts. Imagine 1000+ people sitting around a campfire: planters, foremen, owners, and foresters. Add kegs. Now imagine the chaos.
jayBOT
Regular Contributor

The Wonders of Google earth - treeplanting edition

Post by jayBOT »

So I am a pretty big geek. I'm also a grad student cooped up in a basement office with access to the internet and no one to really answer to. This combination of time and geeky fascination with maps and sat images has lead to inordinate amounts of time spent retracing the steps of previous plants on Google earth/maps.

While its fun to look at any clear cut that you have been in from space or high in the air, I have discovered some cool stuff.

All time best google earth image (for tree planting) is located here:http://maps.google.com/maps?t=h&hl=en&i ... 79043&z=13

At the zoom present in the link nothing can be really seen, but at the time this was taken (August 2006) a plant is actually underway. Zooming in and exploring you can find the bus, parked trucks and cache. Cruising north on Hwy 11 you can see the camp. Complete with weather havens, tents, and you can even make out the ring of white plastic chairs around the fire pit.

Now I thought this was just some one-in-a-million occurrence but while poking around hi-res cuts north of Thunder Bay I found this:http://maps.google.com/maps?t=h&hl=en&i ... 02238&z=16
So maybe its not so special...

Does anyone on here have any cool clearcut occurrences caught on google maps? Or maybe you just have some all time favorite clear cuts (if there is such a thing..) that you have worked in. Tell a little story and post the link here.