Using log books for driving

Here's a chance for all of us to discuss various issues related specifically to vehicles, mechanics, and things with motors or engines.
roadrunner
Starting to Post

Using log books for driving

Post by roadrunner »

About a month ago, I was talking to the office at the company I work at about the requirement for all drivers to keep log books, and they had no idea what I was talking about. For other jobs I've worked that operate under the same federal hours of service that we do, I've always had to do this and it's always been a fairly big deal, so I was curious about it. On the back of the log books we're given it does say that copies need to be submitted to the home terminal within 20 days. I called the BC Trucking Association and said I was a small treeplanting contractor (I didn't use any names) and was wondering about this. The lady I spoke with said that as a contractor operating commercial vehicles federally out of BC in excess of 5000kg GVW that I was required to keep records of all drivers logs for 6 months and copies of trip inspections for 3 months when outside the 160km home terminal thing (which we always are). Trip inspections only need to be done for vehicles over 14,600kg GVW, however, or any crummies that seat 10 passengers PLUS the driver apparently.

The relevant part of regs on this can be found at: http://www.bclaws.ca/EPLibraries/bclaws ... e/26_58_12
Scroll down to 37.18.05 and onward.